Go to top of page



In May 2009 the Australian Government Executive Coordination Forum for Indigenous Affairs agreed that Commonwealth agencies would take steps towards regularised land arrangements on Aboriginal land by seeking secure voluntary land tenure arrangements over all Commonwealth Assets. It is now standard government policy that any major Commonwealth Assets on Aboriginal land are secured by long term leases. Where a Township Lease has not been established, secure land tenure for housing or Commonwealth infrastructure on Aboriginal land can be acquired through Housing or Commonwealth Asset leases under Section 19 of the Aboriginal Land Rights Act.

Section 19 of the Aboriginal Land Rights (Northern Territory) Act 1976 provides that an estate or interest can be granted by the Aboriginal land trust to the Commonwealth for any public purpose, commonly referred to as a Section 19 lease.

The Executive Director, on behalf of the Commonwealth, may enter into a Section 19 lease to secure investment in Public Housing or Commonwealth infrastructure located on Aboriginal Land.